Posts Tagged ‘pete rock’

Take It Personal – Episode 21 w/Apathy & Vanderslice

Wednesday, January 17th, 2018
Share Button

Season 2 kicks off with special guests Apathy and Vanderslice. We talk classics, dickhead rappers, Griselda rappers and drum-less beats. Ap touches on his upcoming project Widow’s Son, his collabo with Pete Rock and also shares some feelings about the Perestroika support. Vanderslice, an extremely dope beat maker himself, is brutally honest and brutally funny too. Nobody is safe when he is on the mic, not Talib Kweli, not Q-Tip, not Pete Rock and not even our homie Big Ghost. Episode 21 sounds like Stretch & Bob meets Viva La Bam. We pay homage to graffiti and have bangers on this show from Smoothe Da Hustler, Das EFX, Company Flow, Lord Finesse, Artifacts, EPMD, Conway, Roc Marciano, Real Live, Jedi Mind Tricks & Red Hot Lover Tone. Strap on the seat belt, cuz ’18 is going to be one hell of a ride on Take It Personal.

DL show:

T.R.O.Y. Presents – Sounds Like The 90s Vol. 24

Monday, August 22nd, 2016
Share Button

We create these Sounds Like The 90s, to share with you new(er) tunes, that we feel represent that 90s hip-hop we love. Listen with an open mind and most importantly, support the artists featured on these Sounds Like The 90s if you like what you hear. 24 is a great number, my favorite number for obvious reasons, so it only made sense to incorporate my childhood idol Rickey Henderson on the cover. Props to dirt_dog for always blessing the artwork. And if you’re a fan of his work, you’ll be happy to know our Certified Dope Apparel is back for a limited time as well. Peace to to all those who continue to support Philaflava, Steady Bloggin and of course, T.R.O.Y.   –Jason Gloss

Follow us on Instagram @Philaflava if you’re feeling nostalgic.
Stay tuned for the return of The Philaflava Show, as we bring you Take It Personal radio dropping this fall.

Sounds Like The 90s Vol. 24

1. Take It Personal Intro
2. Psycho Les (of The Beatnuts) – Hip Hop Never Left feat. Inspectah Deck, Pete Rock & Jeru The Damaja
3. Reef The Lost Cauze – Radio Suckas feat. Peedi Crakk, STS & Truck North
4. Apathy – Rap Is Not Pop
5. D.I.T.C. – Diggin’ Numbers (Remix)
6. Roc Mariciano – All For It (prod. Alchemist)
7. Meyhem Lauren – Not Guilty (prod. Large Professor)
8. Ras Kass – Paypal The Feature feat. Steele & Sean Price
9. Blu & Nottz – Giant Steps feat. Bishop Lamont, Tore, Skyzoo & DJ Revolution
10. Maylay Sparks – Illadelph Elohim feat. Rucker Pawk & The Last Emperor
11. Atmosphere – When The Lights Go Out feat. MF Doom & Kool Keith
12. Skizz – Listen To Jazz feat. Your Old Droog
13. De La Soul – Royalty Capes
14. Ras Beats – Knowledge of Self feat. Elzhi & O.C.
15. Ras Beats – Wit No Pressure feat. Roc Marciano
16. Black Thought – Making A Murderer feat. Styles P (prod. 9th Wonder)
17. MC Eiht & Spice-1 – Any Means (prod. Alchemist)
18. Termanlogy – We’re Both Wrong feat. Saigon (prod. Q-Tip)
19. DJ Joe Bodega – Mentally Decapitated feat. UG, Sean Price & Sadat X

Download RAR
Download ZIP

Cop new Certified Dope Apparel for just $14 for a limited time.
Regularly priced $20 per shirt. Offer ends 8/18.

Bo Jackson x A Tribe Called Quest “Bo Knows” 

Han Solo x Ice Cube “I Saw It Comin”

Roc Marciano – Give Ya Numbers On The Boards (®es†less ßLên∂)

Friday, November 1st, 2013
Share Button

Verses from an old Roc Marci/Pete Rock collab, blended with Pusha’s “Numbers On The Board” instrumental to great effect by some dude named Restless.

Via Alexander Richter, spotted by HL
For another take on “Give it to Ya’ll”, check out Zilla Rocca’s remix HERE

Roc Marciano & Pete Rock – The Specialist (??) / It’s So G (2008)

Tuesday, October 22nd, 2013
Share Button

Robbie posted ‘The Specialist’ earlier today, and I’m inclined to read the ‘unreleased’ tag as ‘something from the archives, circa end of last decade.’ Despite the fact that Rock and Roc worked together frequently during the earlier (UN) years, there haven’t been many outward signs of collaboration, or even camaraderie, between the two since Marciano’s solo career took off around 2009. Hopefully I’m wrong and it is indeed a new track, but gut a feeling tells me it’s old.

‘The Specialist’ reminds me of another older collaboration between the two, a somewhat obscure song called ‘It’s So G’. This one originally appeared as a bonus track of the Japanese edition of Rock’s NY’s Finest album, then later buried deep on the b-side of the Ready Fe War 12″. Neither of these songs have any additional drums beyond those in the looped sample. While the date of origin of ‘The Specialist’ is uncertain, ‘It’s So G’ was definitely made in 2008 (or before). This is significant because it predates the current trend of ‘no drum’ productions, examples of which can be found on Marciano’s own Reloaded, Ka’s last two albums, various Alchemist productions, etc. Moreover, I’m fairly certain that at this point Marci’s own beats still had additional percussion, at least some times.
To clarify, I’m not claiming that Pete Rock invented the ‘no drums’ thing. There are examples of these kinds of beats made by other producers before 2008. But it is interesting to hear Rock, of all people, dabble with the idea. And you gotta wonder if his experiment had any influence on Marciano’s own recent production style.


Roy Ayers, Pete Rock & The Robert Glasper Experiment – We Live In Brooklyn, Baby (Live)

Wednesday, October 19th, 2011
Share Button

This is a pretty sweet way to kill 16 minutes. Ayers playing one of his most enduring classics with assists from Pete Rock and The Robert Glasper Experiment, recorded live in July 2011 at the North Sea Jazz Festival. Look at him go, he’s feeeeeelin it. I’m not 100% sure what exactly Pete Rock’s part in this was, but he was definitely there. Pay close attention around the 12 min 30 second mark when the song takes an unexpected left turn into “My Favorite Things.”
Roy Ayers, Peter Rock & The Robert Glasper Experiment 7/9/11 We Live In Brooklyn, Baby by Funk It Blog
Via Funk-It, you can grab the audio for the whole show from their post.

Camp Lo & Pete Rock – 80 Blocks From Tiffany’s Mixtape (Presented by Trackstar the DJ and DJ Mark Divita)

Thursday, March 31st, 2011
Share Button

Excellent blend tape of well known and more obscure Camp Lo accapellas remixed with original production (they ungayed Lumdi!!!), made even more worthwhile by a smattering of some great new exclusive freestyles over classic Pete Rock tracks. The content is very solid, and it’s elevated by spot on execution – smooth mixing, impeccable progression, uniform tone kept throughout, very little DJ interference – this thing is put together damn well. Honestly, considering how in recent years Camp Lo have done better on random freestyles and features than on their own official albums, I’m wondering if some of the stuff here will actually surpass the album the mixtape is meant to promote.

Stream the whole thing via soundcloud:
Camp Lo/Pete Rock-80 Blocks from Tiffany’s mixtape by djtrackstar


via TSS
Full tracklist below the jump