Posts Tagged ‘Main Source’

Take It Personal (Ep 22: Classic Material w/Dart Adams)

Saturday, February 10th, 2018
Share Button

On episode 22 we’re joined by hip-hop historian, journalist and Boston native Dart Adams, as we discuss, dissect and disagree what makes a classic hip-hop album. Are there modern day classics? Are the standards different these days? Speaking of classics, we got a few from Redman, Main Source, K-Solo, Outkast, Rakim, EPMD, Brand Nubian, Double XX Posse, Da Youngsta’s, Smif-N-Wessun, Big L, Ill Al Skratch, plus some new music from both Planet Asia and Evidence. Thank you for tuning in, we know you’re gonna love this one. Fly, Eagles, Fly! –Philaflava


Nas – The Greatest Guest Features Vol. 1-4

Friday, August 12th, 2011
Share Button

Nothing we haven’t heard before but its good to be reminded why this lazy, stubborn, sometimes extremely idiotic rapper was once the greatest we had in the 90’s.  It’s also a good testament to anyone who ever thought Jay-Z was a better rapper. Definitely a cool compilation for the weekend. Enjoy! –Philaflava

01. Queens Day feat. Run DMC & Prodigy
02. Can’t Fade Me feat. Cassidy & Quan
03. In Between Us feat. Scarface
04. Calm Down feat. Noreaga & Tragedy Khadafi
05. Verbal Intercourse feat. Raekwon
06. Fast Life (Buckwild Remix) feat. Kool G Rap
07. Live at The Barbeque feat. Main Source
08. Success feat. Jay-Z
09. Stay Chiseled feat. Large Professor
10. John Blaze feat. Big Pun, Jadakiss, Raekwon & Fat Joe
11. Eye For An Eye feat. Mobb Deep & Raekwon
12. Music for Life feat. J Dilla, Common, Busta Rhymes & Marsha Of Floetry
13. Rough Around The Edges feat. Busta Rhymes
14. How Ya Livin’ feat. AZ
15. Heartbeat feat. Nneka
16. Wake Up Show Anthem ’94 feat. Pharoahe Monch, Prince Paul, Ras Kass, Dred Scott, Shyheim, Chino XL & Saafir
17. Road to Zion feat. Damian Marley
18. Bring It To You Hardest feat. Slick Rick

Disc 2
01. Fast Life feat. Kool G Rap
02. Rich And Black feat. Raekwon
03. The Essence feat. AZ
04. Grand Finale ft. Method Man, DMX & Ja Rule
05. Dog Shit ft. Mobb Deep
06. Holla Back ft. Kool G Rap, AZ & Tito
07. I Do It For Hip Hop feat. Jay-Z & Ludacris
08. It’s Mine feat. Mobb Deep & Jadakiss
09. Letter to the King feat. Game
10. Analyze This (No Love Lost) feat. Jay-Z & Lord Tariq
11. Classic feat. Kanye West, Rakim & KRS One
12. Finer Things feat. Jon B
13. Don’t Stop, Keep Goin feat. Daz & Kurupt
14. Why (Remix) feat. Styles P, Jadakiss, Common & Anthony Hamilton
15. Gangsta Rap Made Me Do It (Remix) feat. Ice Cube & Scarface
16. Usual Suspects feat. Rick Ross
17. Give It Up Fast feat. Mobb Deep
18. Help Somebody (Remix) feat. Maxwell

Sounds Like Summer – Volume Three

Sunday, July 4th, 2010
Share Button

As we continue on, our Sounds Like Summer series adds another volume while the humidex/heat index pushes past 100 in the north east. Somethin’ for your car, somethin’ for your hangout spot, or just somethin’ for you to chill to. Hella shouts to dirt_dog from TROY for the artwork. Download link, tracklist and links to the rest of the series after the jump.

— Snoop Bloggy Blogg

Timlaska’s Top Ten-est Albums of All Time Honorable Mention

Friday, March 12th, 2010
Share Button

Before we announce the #1 Top Ten-est Rap Album of All Time next week I wanted to focus on albums that just missed the top ten. These are all excellent albums that sadly had a fatal flaw I could not over look.

Black MoonEnta The Stage



Beat Minerz productions and Buckshot killing it for the first and only time.


– Featured 5 Ft. and Dru Ha, and the body count was just to ridiculous coming from two rappers under 5 feet tall and 120 pounds.

RedmanWhut Tha Album



– Not a bad song on the album, thick funk production and Redman at the height of his powers.


– To many stories of sharing women with Erick Serman and “Accidental” encounters with tranies.

ClipseLord Willin



– Great coke rap and amazing production


– Not being able to tell the rappers apart, guest appearances and Pharell

Main SourceBreaking Atoms



Large Pro production and rapping.


– Some nerd shit

Diamond D & The Psychotic NeuroticsStunts Blunts and Hip Hop

Diamond D- Stunts Blunts, Hip Hop


– Excellent production, Diamond is surprisingly adept on the mic


– Features Fat Joe and Lord Jammar

VA/Main Source – Breaking Atoms – The Original Elements

Thursday, November 12th, 2009
Share Button


Hooray for bootlegs. The cover is self explanatory – this is a compilation collecting the original sources used by Large Pro in creating Breaking Atoms. Naturally the main target demographic here are the sample nerds. However this also works as a good mix of assorted classic rock/funk/soul/jazz jams so you can enjoy it even if you don’t give two shits about what the original for Vamos A Rapiar was.

Tracklist (the individual file names in the zip note the corresponding Main Source tracks)

01. Jesse Anderson – Mighty Mighty
02. Ike Turner – Getting Nasty
03. Melvin Van Peebles – Sweetback’s Theme
04. Johnnie Taylor – Watermelon Man
05. Gwen McCrae – 90% Of Me Is You
06. Skull Snaps – I Turn My Back On Love
07. Ike & Tina Turner – Bold Soul Sister
08. Mike Bloomfield, Al Kooper & Stephen Stills – Season Of The Witch
09. Sister Nancy – “Bam Bam”
10. The Detroit Emeralds – You’re Getting A Little Too Smart
11. Pazant Bros – Chick A Boom
12. Donald Byrd – Think Twice
13. Third Guitar – Baby Don’t Cry
14. The Mohawks – The Champ
15. 9th Creation – Rule Of Mind
16. Ruby Andrews – Didn’t I Fool You
17. Melvin Van Peebles – Love That’s America
18. Lou Donaldson – Pot Belly
19. Elephant’s Memory – Mongoose
20. Kool & The Gang – NT
21. MFSB – TLC (Tender Lovin’ Care)
22. The Meters – Britches
23. Milly & Silly – Getting Down For Xmas
24. The Three Sounds – Repeat After Me
25. Vicki Anderson – Message From The Soul Sisters
26. Lou Courtney – “Hey Joyce”
27. Vicki Anderson – I Want To Be In The Land Of Milk & Honey
28. Bob James – Nautilus
29. Melvin Van Peebles – Won’t Bleed Me
30. Funkadelic – You’ll Like It Too

Mikey D (Main Source) – Chosen One feat. Timid

Thursday, September 24th, 2009
Share Button


Queens New York Hip Hop Icon Mikey D returns with “Chosen One”, a message to the world and to self that he is back. Mikey D’s credentials are solidified. Hip Hop knows the former Reality Records and Sleeping Bag Records artist, the young gunner of the late producer Paul C, the New Music Seminar Battle Champion, the controversial battle and defeat of Marly Marl, the one Chosen to take the front of acclaimed group Main Source after the departure of Large Professor. Good things come to those who wait. Mikey D the Chosen One waits no more.

Mikey D featuring Timid – “Chosen One” DOWNLOAD